krpano 1.19 - Pre Release 3

• the form and amount of distortion depends on the individual headset and can't be auto-detected

Howdy Klaus,

Admittedly I'm new to VR mode but I have to wonder. In the case of cardboard the viewer parameters should be the same across all headsets. I would guess that when being displayed on a phone in a browser it would be in a cardboard or similar type viewer so KRP could do the correction automatically. What headset / phone / browser combinations require a distorted display?

BTW, showed off the VR Mode tour at a trade show over the weekend. Lots of positive reaction. YOU make us look good.

• The lens distortion of the Oculus Rift itself isn't perfect - it depends on a lot of factors like the exact position of your eyes inside the headset. The only way to have an bit a control of that distortion is via the Oculus Rift configuration tool.

But still somehow krpano has this distortion/bending while other panoramas don't. For example, https://mozvr.github.io/panorama-viewer/ behaves better even when you download it and replace the landscape image (which has no vertical lines) with an image with a vertical line. Both tested with Firefox Nightly and Oculus DK2 on the same computer.

• Tell me if I'm wrong,
    it seems that toggleVR doesn't call webvr_onentervr ?
    I added webvr_act_as_gyro_in_portrait_mode(); in webvr_onentervr, works perfect when webvr.enterVR() is called, but when webvr.toggleVR(); is fired then webvr_act_as_gyro_in_portrait_mode(); isn't executed ???

• Quoted from "jeromebg"
    because one of my clients had loading problems with a tour I did.
    I have indeed a problem on iphone, sometimes some cube face just don't load and I have no errors in the log...

No error would be strange...

When the server is slow or busy and reports a loading error or times-out krpano still tries the loading again retrycount times before reporting an error in the log, no loading and no error is not normal.