• Hi All,

As you all know krpano has support for alot of browsers and devices. Going from webgl, to css3d to flash.

The html5 tours have support for javascript plugins and through xml code (actions, events, and tons more). Flash tours only support flash plugins and xml code.

I've been creating interfaces mainly in xml code for several years, because whatever browser you run, if you support krpano, you will support the xml code. Creating a plugin for a ui element, for instance a menubar, means you have to create this in Javascript and in Flash. Unless you do it in krpano xml, then you're almost sure of it's workings in every browser.

I've been wondering, is it time to drop Flash support, and create javascript-only plugins. Krpano's xml language is great, dont get me wrong, but sometimes a miss a bit of power, dry code, and oop as a developer. Does anybody feel te same? Have you traveled this route, are there downsides?

What's the marketshare of flash, in the panorama industry? If I'm not mistaken, krpano uses flash for tours on Internet explorer 8 and lower, and Pre 4.0 android devices?

• I've had to dabble in flash and js plugins..
    There's really really isn't a whole lot of difference between actionscript and javascript.
    Converting between the two isn't that big of a deal.

Anything flash only is certainly over. And it seems there's also a lot of obsolete stuff in the plugins page.

The current marketplace for flash is 0% as virtual tours are pretty much the last source of new content and firefox displays a big ugly warning now.

Content that's replaceable now in html5. However, there's not really a good reason to not keep flash as the fallback.

• It's not hard to convert, true. Still it's 2 code bases you have to maintain, fix bugs, add features, update graphics.

And how about 'external' javascript tours? I've seen websites, that create an 'abstraction' layer on top of krpano. For instance, an oldie, https://github.com/Ciul/MooKrpano