Radar mask and alpha channels

• Ok dumb question time. Can someone explain radar masks to me?

I want to hide the sweep when it goes outside my map, here, but I have no idea how to do it.

I have looked at the krpano demo, and seen the radar mask .png, but I am not a Photoshop pro and don't know how to make a graphic like that. And I don't really understand - if the sweep shows through the transparent parts of the mask, what color are the opaque parts of the mask?

Obviously, I'm not that great with graphics programs.

Anyway, the point is I would really love a For Dummies tutorial.

• Hi,

You can set the size "size =" of the sweep in the example xml I use as below;

The transparency of the opaque parts of the radar sweep graphic are controlled through the alpha="" , fillalpha="" and linealpha="" above. Just add those into your radar xml and set them as you would like them.

If you activate the krpano editor setting in your XML

Code
    <plugin name="editor" url="%SWFPATH%/plugins/editor.swf" keep="true" /></plugin>

You can use the editor at the bottom of the screen in real time almost, view the XML make any changes to it then select load this xml. It will then use the parameters you just set. Keep playing till you see what you want, then copy the xml portion that works how you like and paste it into the file used to compile your panorama.

By the way, if you want transparency in an image in Photoshop an easy way is to add a layer below the layer of whatever graphic you have. Dont paint on this layer. Then erase on your graphic layer using the eraser or even the selections tool any area where you want it to be transparent.

Radar layer -----========---------
    New layer -----------------------------------