Beiträge von Scott Witte

I have no personal experience using the below. I just did some research a while ago for a possible project that hasn't come through yet. You probably want a Mobile Device Manager that can provide kiosk mode and remote updates.

ArborXR and ManageXR seem capable. Both have a free trial but require a subscription to use after that.

Look into Progressive Web Apps as a way to strip away the browser interface and just display your tour. That's on my to do list. It looks very promising.

Hope this helps.

Tim -- I looked into this several years ago and gave up, especially for Quest headsets. If you search for Cordova in the forums here you will find several discussions. It sounds like you already did a Google search for "Cordova" WebXR and found the couple of GitHub pages that haven't been updated in years.

If your primary purpose is to run your tours offline, a local server on the device is the easiest way to go. I recently did that for a museum client. More than that, they wanted the tablets locked down in kiosk mode so only the tour loaded onto the tablets was available to users -- no other apps or web surfing. Android proved the easiest for that. Just search for local host in the Google Play Store. You should find several options. The setup was straightforward. And if you want Kiosk mode -- running only your tour(s) and removing all aspects of the browser outside the page -- you will find that easily as well. Understanding that setup took a bit longer but still far easier than building an app in Cordova.

For the Quest headset I had to sideload the local server but I can run tours locally on my Quest 2. I suspect it works just as well on the Quest 3. Consider using the Wolvic browser, which I believe can be used as more of a standalone app. You will need KRPano v1.21+ to work properly.

There are several kiosk mode for Quest products available as well, if you need that, but they require subscriptions, from what I remember.